Premium Content

Access "Storage standards: A progress report"

Published: 20 Oct 2012

Four storage standards (SMI-S, XAM, encryption key management and FAIS) promise to make it much easier to manage storage and data. Several storage standards are emerging that will help storage administrators manage data more efficiently. According to Vincent Franceschini, chairman of the board of the Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA), a "standards ecosystem" is slowly developing that will allow heterogeneous storage products to better communicate with each other, as well as to protect data and more easily find it. They're lofty goals and progress is measured in baby steps. What follows is an update on four important major standards: the Storage Management Initiative-Specification (SMI-S), eXtensible Access Method (XAM), encryption key management and the Fabric Application Interface Standard (FAIS). Standard 1: SMI-S The most comprehensive of the four standards discussed in this article is SNIA's SMI-S. The ultimate goal of SMI-S is to let applications manage heterogeneous storage environments. It provides standardized methods to discover, ... Access >>>

Access TechTarget
Premium Content for Free.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

What's Inside


More Premium Content Accessible For Free