I just added some additional files to a CD rewritable disk. When I look at the contents of that disk all I see are the files I just added. (The disk may have been almost full.) Is it possible, that because it was already full, the disk erased the existing contents to add the last batch of files? If so, can I recover any of the old contents? There were some valuable files that I won't be able to recover otherwise.

Requires Free Membership to View

There are an infinite number of possibilities that caused what you are seeing. I would not think that it would have automatically erased the disk the way that you are suggesting but there are buttons along the way that you may have selected that may have done that. As to recovering the old data, I know of no utility to do so. I would call tech support for the CD-RW vendor.

Editor's note: Do you agree with this expert's response? If you have more to share, post it in one of our .bphAaR2qhqA^0@/searchstorage>discussion forums.


This was first published in July 2002

There are Comments. Add yours.

 
TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: